1. Applicant has to meet the following requirements
- Age: You must be 18 years of age or older to be licensed.
- Residence: Proof of Legal Presence in the United States is required. If you are not a California resident, see Out-of-State Applicants at
- Honesty: Applicants must be honest and truthful. Conviction of a crime may result in the denial of a license. Failure to disclose any criminal violation or disciplinary action in an applicant's entire history may also result in the denial of a license. For further information, see
- Experience: None required.
- Education: Successful completion of the following college-level courses is required for becoming a real estate salesperson:
Real Estate Principles (must be completed or in progress to apply for examination and must be completed prior to applying for a license); and
Real Estate Practice (must be completed prior to applying for a license or within 18 months of license issuance); and
One course from the following list (must be completed prior to applying for a license or within 18 months of license issuance):
Real Estate Office Administration
Computer Applications in Real Estate
*All marked courses are offered by StudyLicense Real Estate School.
Note: Members of the bar of any state in the United States or graduates of law schools recognized by the California State Bar will generally qualify on the basis of their education, and as such are exempt from the college-level course requirements. Evidence of admission to practice law, such as a photocopy of both sides of a current State Bar membership card, or of an LL.B. or J.D. Degree should accompany the application.
Also, applicants who submit evidence of having completed the eight statutory college-level courses required for the broker examination and license are eligible to take the salesperson examination without submitting further evidence of experience or education.
Courses must be three semester-units or four quarter-units at the college level. Courses must be completed at an institution of higher learning accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges or by a comparable regional accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of Education, or by a private real estate school which has had its courses approved by the California Real Estate Commissioner.
Courses completed through foreign institutions of higher learning must be evaluated by a foreign credentials evaluation service approved by the Department of Real Estate (please contact the DRE).
StudyLicense Real Estate School courses are approved by the Department of Real Estate. We issue our students official course completion certificates.
Copies of official transcripts are generally acceptable evidence of completed courses. Transcripts of equivalent courses submitted as substitutes for the college-level courses listed above must be supported by an official course or catalog description in order to be evaluated for equivalency .
2. Applicant Must Pass The State Examination
To obtain a real estate salesperson license, you must qualify for and pass a written Salesperson examination. Those who pass the examination are provided a license application which must be submitted to and approved by the DRE.
When you can apply for the examination:
If you have completed all three courses, submit transcripts showing completion of the three courses with your examination application.
If you have completed Real Estate Principles only , submit transcripts showing completion with your examination application.
If you have not completed Real Estate Principles, you must certify under penalty of perjury that you are currently enrolled in an acceptable Real Estate Principles course by signing the examination application.
After you pass state examination, you can apply for your license:
If you have completed all three courses, submit transcripts showing completion of the three courses with your license application if you have not already done so.
If you have completed Real Estate Principles only, submit transcripts showing completion with your license application if you have not already done so. Transcripts showing completion of the other two courses must be submitted within 18 months of the date the license is issued and an additional fee for processing a conditional license will apply. To learn more about conditional license visit